South Africans win top awards at #CAFAwards2023

todayDecember 12, 2023 57

share close

Banyana Banyana coach, Desiree Ellis, has won the women’s Coach of the Year Award, for the fourth consecutive time, at the CAF awards ceremony.

The event was held in the Moroccan city of Marrakech last night.

South African side, Mamelodi Sundowns, clinched the Ladies as Team of the Year Award,  whilst the Egyptian giants, Al Ahly, won the men’s accolade.

South Africa dominated the continent’s Best XI players in the Women Category, while two members of Morocco’s World Cup semi-final team were included in the male version.












Nigeria striker, Victor Osimhen, was named African Footballer of the Year – with compatriot Asisat Oshoala winning the top prize in the women’s category.

The 24-year-old Osimhen, who scored 26 goals as he helped Italian side Napoli to a triumph in Serie A last season, was nominate alongside Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah and Moroccan right-back Achraf Hakimi.












Oshoala was the women’s Player of the Year for a record sixth time, having battled injury to help her side to the round of 16 at the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, where they took eventual finalists England to penalties.

Nigeria took home the trophy for the women’s National Team of the Year, whilst Morocco won National Team of the Year in the men’s category after their thrilling run to the 2022 World Cup semi-finals in Qatar, while the man who led them there, Walid Regragui, won Coach of the Year.

Morocco’s Walid Regragui was crowned CAF’s Best Coach of the Year in the Men’s category – recognised for guiding the Atlas Lions to a historic World Cup semi-final run in Qatar.

In CAF InterClub, South Africa and Al Ahly’s Percy Tau won the CAF InterClub Player of the Year.












Senegal’s Lamine Camara, the 19-year-old FC Metz forward, clinched the CAF Young Player of the Year Award and Moroccan prodigy Nesryne El Chad took the CAF Women’s Young Player of the Year trophy.

Morocco won the Men’s National Team Award following their performance at the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022, while Nigeria won the Women’s National Team of the Year Award.

The winners in each category were voted for by a panel comprising CAF Technical Committee, Head Coaches, National Team captains and media professionals.

Full List of Award Winners:

Player of the Year (Men): Victor Osimhen (Nigeria, Napoli)

Player of the Year (Women): Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men): Percy Tau (South Africa, Al Ahly)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women): Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

Coach of the Year (Men): Walid Regragui (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Women): Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men): Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Al Hilal)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women): Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

Young Player of the Year (Men): Lamine Camara (Senegal, Metz)

Young Player of the Year (Women): Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

National Team of the Year (Men): Morocco

National Team of the Year (Women): Nigeria

Club of the Year (Men): Al Ahly (Egypt)

Club of the Year (Women): Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Men’s Africa XI (compiled by FIFPRO Africa)

Goalkeeper André Onana Internazionale / Manchester United Cameroon
Defender Achraf Hakimi Paris Saint-Germain Morocco
Defender Chancel Mbemba Olympique Marseille DR Congo
Defender Kalidou Koulibaly Chelsea / Al-Hilal Senegal
Midfielder André-Frank Zambo Anguissa Napoli Cameroon
Midfielder Mohammed Kudus AFC Ajax / West Ham United Ghana
Midfielder Sofyan Amrabat Fiorentina / Manchester United Morocco
Midfielder Thomas Partey Arsenal Ghana
Forward Mohamed Salah Liverpool Egypt
Forward Sadio Mané Bayern Munich / Al-Nassr Senegal
Forward Victor Osimhen Napoli Nigeria



Women’s Africa XI (compiled by FIFPRO Africa)

Goalkeeper Andile Dlamini Mamelodi Sundowns South Africa
Defender Bambani Mbane Mamelodi Sundowns South Africa
Defender Lebohang Ramalepe FC Dinamo Minsk South Africa
Defender Michielle Aloize Houston Dash Nigeria
Defender Osinachi Ohale Deportivo Alavés Gloriosas Nigeria
Midfielder Fatima Tagnaout ASFAR Morocco
Midfielder Linda Matlhalo Glasgow City South Africa
Midfielder Refiloe Jane Sassuolo South Africa
Forward Asisat Oshoala Barcelona Nigeria
Forward Barbra Banda Shanghai Shengli Zambia
Forward Tabitha Chawinga Jianghan University / Paris Saint-Germain Malawi










Written by: Nonhlanhla Harris

Rate it