Broos names squad for June World Cup qualifiers

todayMay 30, 2024 1039

share close
Hugo Broos, coach of South Africa during the World Cup 2026 Qualifiers Bafana Bafana squad announcement at SABC Studios in Johannesburg on 30 May 2024 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

Bafana Bafana coach, Hugo Broos, has named the 23-man squad to face Nigeria and Zimbabwe in two Fifa World Cup qualifiers in June.

The South African senior men’s national team will face Nigeria’s Super Eagles away from home in Uyo on the 7th of next month. They will then return to host Zimbabwe at the Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein on the 11th.

The goalkeepers see the familliar trio of Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), and Ricardo Goss (SuperSport United) all crack the nod with Kaizer Chiefs’ Bruce Bvuma falling out from the previous camp.

Former Chiefs defender, Siyabonga Ngezana, is the name that sticks out among the defenders after winning the Romanian league title with his club FCSB, while Mamelodi Sundowns’ Aubrey Modiba, Thapelo Morena, Grant Kekana, Mothobi Mvala, and Khuliso Mudau reclaim their places alongside Orlando Pirates’ Nkosinathi Sibisi, and Sekhukhune United’s Sydney Mobbie.

The midfield sees regulars Teboho Mokoena (Sundowns), Siphephelo Sithole (Tondela FC), and Jaden Adams (Stellenbosch) link up with Bathusi Aubaas (Sundowns).

The forwards will see Pirates youngster Relebohile Mofokeng get his first call up while the usual suspects of Themba Zwane (Sundowns), Percy Tau (Al Ahly), Iqraam Rayners (Stellenbosch), also feature while there is also a return for Burnley striker Lyle Foster after he opted to not participate in the recent Afcon citing mental health issues.

Elias Mokwana (Sekhukhune), Oswin Appolis (Polokwane City), and Patrick Maswanganyi (Pirates) also make up the fold.

Written by: Ntsako Mukhari

Rate it