Wolvaardt to lead the Proteas pack

todayNovember 24, 2023 21

share close

Laura Wolvaardt has officially been named the Proteas Women captain for all three formats.

Wolvaardt takes over the reins full-time after a successful tenure as interim captain during the recent tours against Pakistan and New Zealand, where she led from the front with the bat, helping her team to back-to-back 2-1 ODI series victories.

The 24-year-old has already appeared in 86 One-Day Internationals and 59 T20 Internationals, recording 3421 runs with thirty fifties and four hundreds in the 50-over format, in addition to 1 313 runs at an average of 32.82 with nine half-centuries in T20Is.

The Proteas are set to face Bangladesh in the white ball tour on home soil between 03 – 23 December. In the T20I series between 03 – 08 December, the newly appointed South African captain will oversee a squad that’s blended with youth and experience, with a sprinkle of rising talent as SA U19 and SA emerging stars, Ayanda Hlubi and Eliz-Mari Marx, earn their maiden international call-ups in the shorter format.

Returning to the national fold for the first time since injuring her hand during the winter is Garden Route Badgers all-rounder, Annerie Dercksen, who gets a reward for solid performances at domestic and emerging level at the start of the new season.

Among the centrally contracted players not available for the T20I series are fast bowler Ayabonga Khaka (knee injury) and all-rounders Chloè Tryon (groin) and Nadine de Klerk (side strain). Meanwhile, experienced campaigner Marizanne Kapp is rested for the T20Is and will return for the ODI series.

Proteas Women T20I Squad vs Bangladesh (2023/24):

Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Annerie Dercksen, Mieke de Ridder, Lara Goodall, Ayanda Hlubi, Sinalo Jafta, Masabata Klaas, Suné Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Nondumiso Shangase, Delmi Tucker, Laura Wolvaardt.

Written by: Ntsako Mukhari

Rate it