Conrad names new look side for NZ Test matches

todayJanuary 3, 2024 19

share close

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced a 14-player squad for the Proteas two-match Test tour of New Zealand this month.

Titans batter Neil Brand will captain the side that includes Test batters David Bedingham and Keegan Petersen, who are currently involved in the ongoing Test series against India which South Africa lead 1-0.

Zubayr Hamza; the experienced Khaya Zondo; pace pair Duanne Olivier and Dane Paterson, as well as spinner Dane Piedt, who will look to add to their Test caps, are also part of the squad.

Brand, who led South Africa A to a 2-1 series win over West Indies A earlier this month, is one of seven uncapped players, which include batter Raynard van Tonder, all-rounders Ruan de Swardt and Mihlali Mpongwana, seam bowler Tshepo Moreki, spinner Shaun von Berg and wicketkeeper Clyde Fortuin.

The squad will depart for New Zealand on 19 January.

“Firstly I would like to congratulate the players that will be going on a Proteas tour for the first time. It is a real honour to represent your country, so they should savour the moment,” Test head coach, Shukri Conrad, told a media briefing.

“The players picked for this tour have every chance of challenging New Zealand and we have full confidence they will do exactly that when we arrive for the first Test match at Mount Maunganui.

Most of these guys participated in the recent ‘A’ series against West Indies where they showed that they have what it takes against players of international calibre. That experience will no doubt leave them in a better position for what we expect to be a testing series in New Zealand.”


Written by: Ntsako Mukhari

Rate it