Kodwa shuffles BSA pack with new board

todayNovember 28, 2023 84

share close

Sports Minister, Zizi Kodwa, has appointed a new Boxing South Africa Board, which comprises of seven members and will be in office for the next three years.

Kodwa announced on Tuesday morning that the chairperson of the board, Sifiso Shongwe, Sakhiwo Sodo, Romy Titus, Nande Mshe, Princess Nongoma and Mary Sitata will be the new board members until 2026.

They will be in office from December 12.

Shongwe holds an avalanche of experience as a promoter under the Disney Walt Company, which staged 12 tournaments live on ESPN last year.

The board replaces that of chairman Luthando Jack, Gilberto Martins, Khulile Radu, Surej Maharaj, Azwitamisi Nthangeni, Sakhiwo Sodo and Eric Sithole, who is the current acting CEO.

Sithole took the post and had been in that host seat since 2021 when Cindy Nkomo resigned as both director of operations and acting CEO.

Nkomo was appointed acting CEO in August 2020 following the sudden resignation by Tsholofelo Lejaka, whose five-year term as permanent CEO was to end in 2021.

Nkomo had been with Boxing SA for four years. Boxing SA is also currently without a director of operations.

Senior administrator, Mncedisi Ngqumba, who worked closely with Mandla Nhlanganiso, is responsible for the day-to-day running of the fisticuffs sport.



Written by: Ntsako Mukhari

Rate it